Battle of the Nose Strips – Bioré vs Primark

Hello and Welcome!

I hope that you’re having a fantastic Friday and are looking forward to the weekend! Continuing on with my battle series (I previously wrote an eyeliner pen battle which you can find here) I thought I’d do a nose strip battle between Bioré and Primark.

Today we will be battling the following products:

20795176_10212454895981055_1951747546_o

  • Bioré ‘Deep Cleansing Charcoal Pore Strips’ – £9.49 (for 6 strips)
  • Primark ‘PS… One-step Cleansing Aloe Nose Pore Strips’ – £1.00 (for 4 strips)

I will be breaking this battle down into the following categories:

  • Packaging and Instructions
  • Ease of Application
  • Results of Strip
  • Price vs Results
  • Final Thoughts

Packaging and Instructions

Bioré ‘Deep Cleansing Charcoal Pore Strips’ – £9.49

Packaging: The Bioré strips come in a box with an image of someone using the product. Honestly I don’t think this packaging is anything special and it would not entice me to buy it. I originally bought this product because it was half price at Boots, and I happened to be looking for a product for pores/blackheads at the time.

Inside the box there are six separate black packets (one is pictured in the first image above) which each contain one nose strip. As you can see in the second picture, the packet has slits near the top which allows for an easy and clean opening of the packet (I just tear the whole side off). The actual nose strip is black and contains slits that allow the product to fit easier to your nose, this is detailed in the third picture.

Instructions (from box/packets):
1. Remove strip from pouch. Twist strip to loosen and separate slits prior to use.
2. After washing your face, thoroughly wet your nose. The strip won’t stick on a dry nose.
3. Dry hands. Peel strip off plastic liner. Apply to nose area, smooth side down, pressing down to ensure good contact with skin.
4. Let dry for about 10-15 minutes until stiff to the touch – like papier-mâché.
5. Slowly and carefully peel off starting at edges, pulling towards centre. Any residue left on skin is easily removed with rinsing.

Primark ‘PS… One-step Cleansing Aloe Nose Pore Strips’ – £1.00

Packaging: The Primark nose strips are contained in plastic packaging as opposed to a box, which has an aloe leaf printed on it. This packaging also contains an image of someone using the product, but it is much smaller at the bottom, and is an illustrated image.

Much like the Bioré nose strips, inside this packaging there are four separate silver packets (shown in picture one above) which each contain a nose strip. Again, just like the more expensive Bioré strips, the packets have small slits at the top allowing you to rip the side off of the packet to access the nose strip. The strip itself is white, and unlike the Bioré one, does not contain slits which need opening, instead it is one solid piece. As you can see, the Primark strip is also a slightly different shape.

Instructions (from container/packets:
Thoroughly wash your face. Open packet and peel the strip off from the plastic liner. Wet your nose with water. Apply the strip to moistened nose area with the shiny side facing your skin. Press down and smooth out air bubbles, ensuring good contact with skin. Let the strip dry for 10-15 minutes. The strip should feel stiff as it dries. Slowly and carefully peel off the strip starting at the edges, pulling towards the centre.

As you can see, the instructions for the Bioré and the Primark strips are very similar, the only main differences being that the Bioré instructions are presented as a step-by-step numbered guide whereas the Primark ones are displayed in a paragraph (which is very small and in the top right corner of the main packaging). Additionally, the instructions for the Bioré product is printed on the individual packets as well as the outside box, whereas the Primark instructions are only on the outside packaging – meaning if you lose the outside sleeve then you have no instructions (I couldn’t find these on the Primark website).

Ease of Application

I think both of these are really easy to apply, as long as you ensure your nose is really wet or they won’t stick properly. I do find this to be a bit of a trial and error, and sometimes certain areas are too wet which makes it difficult for the strip to stick properly (for example by my nostrils).

I do think that the slits in the Bioré strips make it marginally easier to apply than the Primark ones, as the slits help it fit to the contours of your nose better. Sometimes the Primark strips need a little more attention and smoothing out but I don’t think it’s a huge deal. Additionally, as I have a nose ring it does make applying these slightly harder and I find the Bioré ones cling to the skin around my nose ring more than the Primark ones.

Results of Strip

Originally I thought the Primark strips were removing less than the Bioré strips but after retesting the Bioré ones, the results from these seem to be very similar. These strips do remove some gunk from my nose but I wouldn’t say it was a substantial amount. Additionally, I found both of the strips left behind some residue in areas that didn’t fully dry after the allotted time, which requires washing off. After washing this off, both the Bioré and the Primark strips leave my nose feeling equally as soft.

I have been using the Bioré strips for longer and they always seem to pull out roughly the same amount (which isn’t much). So I thought that either I have a pretty clean nose, or they don’t work massively well. However, the fact the Primark ones pull out the same amount leads me to conclude that I simply don’t have a lot to pull out (or maybe both strips are equally bad).

I personally think the results are worth it as I only use them every two weeks or so, and in conjunction with my usual skin routine. However, I don’t think these are the type of strip where you see a HUGE difference immediately after removing them.

Price vs Results

The fact that both of these seem to do the same thing confuses me as they’re priced so differently. Additionally, despite the Bioré strips containing charcoal, and the Primark ones containing Aloe and Witch Hazel, they smell exactly the same which seems odd to me as they don’t seem to contain any of the same ingredients.

The only differences between the Bioré and Primark strips that I’ve found are the packaging that they come in (one’s a box, the other is a packet), the Bioré strips having slits in them whilst the Primark ones do not, the shape of the strips being very slightly different, and the colour of the strips. However, if you blindfolded me and gave me the strip only, I wouldn’t know any difference from feel or smell, and if the strips were the same colour and shape, I wouldn’t notice any difference in the results.

Price breakdown: The Bioré strips retail for £9.49 at Boots for 6 strips when they are not on offer (you can check out the product here), this works out at roughly £1.58 per strip. The Primark strips are priced at £1.00 for 4 strips, making each strip 25p each. This would mean that SIX Primark strips is the same price as ONE Bioré strip.

Final Thoughts

I honestly find these strips do exactly the same thing for very different price points. Both need to be applied and removed in the same way, they both remove gunk from my nose, and they both strangely have the same flaws (leaving residue in some places that needs to be washed away). The main difference between these strips is that the Primark ones are Aloe, and the Bioré ones are Charcoal. However, I’m unsure if that justifies the huge price difference for virtually the same product and result.

Personally I would prefer to buy the Primark strips, and will be doing so in the future. This is not to say that I don’t like the Bioré strips, I do and I was using them for months before I discovered the Primark strips. However, after seeing that the Primark strips on me create a very similar result to the Bioré ones, I would much prefer to save money and buy the Primark ones. Additionally, I usually follow up the strips by using a Charcoal soap, therefore I don’t need Charcoal to be contained in the strip itself.

This brings us to the end of this battle, thank you so much for reading, I hope you enjoyed it! If you did like reading this review then please give it a quick like, and if you have a type of product you’d like to see a battle of then please let me know! Additionally, what are your thoughts on this, have you tried either of these products? If you have, what did you think?

Love,

Charlotte (Multibendystraw)

Picture1

Check out my previous posts!

Soap and Glory Sheet and Eye Masks Review – Are They Worth it?

Primark Lip Products Review – Are They Worth it?

The Quest for Blinding Highlight – Sleek ‘Solstice’ Highlighting Palette

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

