Soap and Glory Sheet and Eye Masks Review – Are They Worth it?

Hello and Welcome!

Today I’m going to be taking a look at some of Soap and Glory’s new sheet and eye mask range, and giving a review on what I thought of the products.

For a while I’ve been watching them and really wanting to try them. However, I’ve been apprehensive about buying them as I’ve read a lot of mixed reviews. I’ve read reviews of people who love every mask, some who like some, and some who found none of them worked. I found it difficult to tell which reviews were sponsored and which were honest so I was put off buying them.

As you may know if you’ve seen my Korean beauty posts, I really love sheet masks as I find them more practical than regular masks which I sometimes find to be really messy. I really love Soap and Glory’s bath and body products so was very excited when they brought out a sheet mask range. A week or so ago I was in Boots and Soap and Glory was on a 3 for 2 deal so I took the opportunity to buy three masks to try.

The masks that I bought were as follows:

  • The ‘Speed Plump’ ‘Miracle Moisture Mask’ – £3.50.
  • The ‘Puffy Eye Attack’ ‘Under-eye Brightening Hydrogel Patches’ – £3.50.
  • The ‘Bright + Beautiful’ ‘Radiance-Boosting Mask’ – £3.50

I honestly was slightly put off by the price, I was only aware that they were on 3 for 2 when I got to the checkout, but I was not looking forward to paying £10.50 for three masks. I’m very glad that it came to £7 instead!

I chose these ones as I have dry skin and the other two (the ‘Fab Pore’ ‘Pore-Refining Sheet Mask’ and the ‘What a Peeling!’ ‘De-Clog Mask’) seemed marketed more towards oily or combination skin.

Packaging

20727754_10212440577943113_1068942063_o

Honestly the packaging gets a 10/10 for me, I’ve always absolutely loved the Soap and Glory packaging and these are no exception. The reason why I bought these in the end was partially because I loved the packaging so much and they always looked so enticing, and because I love trying new masks of course!

I don’t have much more to say about the packaging apart from that I really love it. As always it’s not about the packaging, it’s about whether the product actually works.

The ‘Speed Plump’ ‘Miracle Moisture Mask’ – £3.50

This is part of the description for this mask on the boots website:
‘Drying for a super moisture boost? Get super-smooth hydrated skin fast with SPEED PLUMP™ Miracle Moisture Mask. The mask comes in two pieces so you can fit it perfectly to your face, whenever it needs a good quench. The hydrogel inside is soaked with super moisturisers including the wonderstuff HYALURONIC ACID, plus rose, peony flower root and safflower plant extracts. 

Delicately scented with fresh juicy orange and imbued with sweet orange essential oil (renowned for its uplifting and revitalising benefits, science buffs), your skin will plump for joy!’ 

So this mask comes in two pieces (one which is the head, cheeks and nose, one for the mouth and jawline), you have to ensure your face is clean and dry before use and there is a film/plastic thing on either side of each mask piece to be removed before it’s applied to your face, you then wait 20-30 minutes and remove before massaging any remaining product into your skin until absorbed. This is pretty standard practice for sheet masks, although usually having plastic pieces to remove is typical with eye masks, rather than full face masks.

I thought this mask smelt pretty good but I would say that it had more of a floral scent than the orange one detailed in the Boots description. Also I personally found there was a plastic, almost plasticine, scent to the mask which I assume may have come from the plastic pieces that needed to be removed from the mask before application.

Despite having read reviews, and a description, that stated the mask came in two parts I was still surprised when I pulled out two different parts (I’ve always used one piece sheet masks). I found the mask being in two very useful and it fit much better onto my face than other one piece masks. The actual mask was quite thick, especially in comparison to the ‘Bright + Beautiful’ Soap and Glory mask, and was easy to apply.

The mask itself wasn’t massively wet which is a new experience for me as every sheet mask I’ve used has literally been dripping with product. Additionally, I found the mask dried up quite a lot and once removed there was very minimal product to massage into my skin.

So did it work? – I did think that my face felt and looked smooth and moisturised after I’d removed it, but it didn’t make my skin look dewy. Additionally, whilst the description on the Boots website emphasises plumping, I wouldn’t say that my skin felt any more plump after removing the mask.

Would I buy it again? – Possibly. I do think that £3.50 is quite expensive for a seemingly basic sheet mask and I don’t think that it did anything magical. Boots is convenient for me to get to, and I did love the Soap and Glory packaging so it is entirely possible that I will buy this mask again. However, I would recommend Korean brands of sheet masks and would rather use my favourite masks by Innisfree (you can check out my review for their masks here) as they’re only £1.80 and I personally find they do a better job on my skin.

If you think the ‘Speed Plump’ ‘Miracle Moisture Mask’ is for you then you can buy one through the Boots website here.

The ‘Puffy Eye Attack’ ‘Under-eye Brightening Hydrogel Patches’ – £3.50

This is part of the description for this mask on the Boots website:
‘Say goodb-eye to puffy, tired eyes with our dreamy under-eye patches. With PUFFEASE™ technology (a tripeptide that reduces the appearance of puff) and super-naturally good ingredients including cucumber fruit juice and liquorice root extract, it’s the perfect perk-me-up for peepers!
Smoothes, revitalises, brightens and moisturises while you rest and relax. It’s truly eye-mazing.’

For this product you get two patches which are to be placed under your eyes. The instructions are to ensure your skin is clean and dry, remove the plastic film from the patch, and place this under your eye, leave for 20-30 minutes before removing and rubbing in any excess product.

I personally don’t have very puffy under eyes, I just have dark circles so was using this product in the hopes to reduce those. I used these after I hadn’t slept very well to see if they would brighten up my under-eyes and make me look less tired.

These were pretty easy to apply and comfortable to wear. After removing them I didn’t see much of a difference in puffiness, but as I said I don’t have particularly puffy under-eyes. I do think that they made my under-eyes look brighter though, and made me look slightly more awake.

So did it work? – I do think these worked in a way. They worked a little for what I wanted them to do but I’m unsure whether they would ease puffiness, or if they would work well on someone with darker under-eyes. I think part of the reason why I believe they worked a bit was because I was specifically looking in that area for noticeable differences, I don’t think anyone else would have been able to notice.

Would I buy it again? – I think I would only buy these again to use before major events to make my eyes look more awake. However, this would be very rare and wouldn’t be a frequent repurchase. Personally, I prefer to use something daily (The Ordinary Caffeine Solution 5% + EGCG – I have reviewed this product) which improves the appearance of my under-eyes.

If you like the look of the Soap and Glory ‘Puffy Eye Attack’ ‘Under-eye Brightening Hydrogel Patches’ then you can purchase them on the Boots website here.

The ‘Bright + Beautiful’ ‘Radiance-Boosting Mask’ – £3.50

This is part of the description for this mask on the Boots website:
‘Partied too hard? Dull, stressed-out skin? Muster your lustre with a mask that’s crammed with gorgeous ingredients to refresh and revive your complexion. BRIGHT + BEAUTIFUL™ includes Vitamin C and a special white flower skin-brightening complex plus a rooibos tea extract renowned for its energy-boosting properties. Brighten up EVEN MORE with a sprinkling of FLATTERSPHERES™ for a soft focus touch of radiance. All this – plus a gorgeous pink grapefruit and fresh mint scent – will leave you ready to get up and glow.’

Firstly does anyone know what ‘Flatterspheres’ are and why Soap and Glory has trade marked it? I’ve tried Googling it but it just comes up with random different Soap and Glory products.

Unlike the ‘Speed Plump’ mask, this mask came as one piece. The instructions are to use on a clean, dry face, and leave for 15-20 minutes before removing and massaging excess product into your skin OR using a cotton pad to wipe away. So the instructions to either massage the remaining product, or wipe it away confused me. I have never seen a sheet mask that advises that you could potentially wipe away some of the excess serum. This seems like a huge waste of product to me!

On my notes about this mask I’ve written that it smells sweet and fruity ‘kind of like grapefruit’ and I’ve just realised it’s supposed to smell like grapefruit so I can report that it smells as it is advertised. The mask itself is very, very thin. It’s not only thinner than the ‘Speed Plump’ mask, but also thinner than any other sheet mask that I’ve tried. This made it difficult to apply as I was scared I would rip it, and I found the mask kept folding in on itself and sticking together.

Once the mask was finally on my face, I found that the eye and mouth holes were too small. The hole for the mouth was so small that product kept getting on my lips. Whilst at the same time the flap for the nose was too big so product kept dripping inside my nose. It was a battle.

After 20 minutes I removed the mask, and began rubbing the remaining serum into my face and boy was there a lot of it. I found that it took ages to absorb into my skin as there was so much excess. Not only this but a lot of the product didn’t absorb and when I touched my face half an hour or so later some serum bunched up and rubbed off of my face. I do see why they state you can rub the excess off with a cotton pad, as there was SO much excess, but I do think that it’s a waste.

So did it work? – I personally didn’t see that much of a difference, I don’t think that my face was that much brighter after removing the mask. I would that say no, it did not work for me.

Would I buy it again? – Probably not, honestly, I don’t think it made much of a difference to my skin. It was difficult for me to put it on and there was serum up my nose and in my mouth – not the most relaxing or comfortable feeling!

If you would like to buy the ‘Bright + Beautiful’ ‘Radiance-Boosting Mask’ then you can do so on the Boots website here.

Final Thoughts

I think overall the packaging on these masks is beautiful but the masks themselves I found to be a bit of a let down. My opinion is that they would be worth it if they were cheaper. Although they’re only £3.50, I think that’s expensive for a sheet mask when I can get a Korean sheet mask, that works better for my skin, for £1.80.

I did enjoy the ‘Speed Plump’ ‘Miracle Moisture Mask’ and would probably repurchase that mask, but I found the ‘Bright + Beautiful’ ‘Radiance-Boosting Mask’ didn’t do a lot for my skin, and was too flimsy and thin, and the ‘Puffy Eye Attack’ ‘Under-eye Brightening Hydrogel Patches’ only slightly helped my under-eye dark circles.

This brings us to the end of this review, I hope you liked reading my thoughts about the Soap and Glory sheet and eye masks! If you did enjoy reading this then please give my review a like. Leave a comment if there’s other brands of sheet mask you’d like me to try, would you like to see a review about Boots own brand of sheet masks?

Love,

Charlotte (Multibendystraw)

Picture1

Check out my previous posts!

Primark Lip Products Review- Are They Worth it?
The Quest for Blinding Highlight – Sleek ‘Solstice’ Highlighting Palette
Battle of the Eyeliner Pens – Kat Von D vs NYX vs Soap and Glory vs Ciaté London

13 thoughts on “Soap and Glory Sheet and Eye Masks Review – Are They Worth it?

Add yours

    1. I love Soap and Glory too!
      I’m glad you liked the review 😘
      I personally just found these to be a disappointment, but we’re all different so they may work better for you!
      I think that £3.50 is quite expensive for sheet masks when they’re usually so much cheaper! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

