Primark Lip Products – Are They Worth it?

Hello and Welcome!

Recently I went to Primark and bought way too much, and in the process bought almost all of Primark’s different lip products. Everyone knows that Primark is renowned for having affordable items, and I’ve seen it a lot in the media recently about their introduction of Disney themed products. So I thought, if Primark are succeeding so much at the moment, why not try out some of Primark’s makeup to see if it’s worth buying.

Now I have a lot of lip products, and lipstick is definitely my favourite. I originally had a list of makeup to buy, that I’d read good things about. However, I couldn’t find the majority of it, and it was only once I was checking out that I realised I had only purchased lip products. Therefore, this review will focus purely on some of Primark’s lip items.

To swatch, review, and generally chat about I have:

  • ‘PS… Lip Liner Pencil’ in ‘Toffee’ – £1.
  • ‘PS… Lip Liner Pencil’ in ‘Desert Sand’ – £1.
  • ‘PS… Velvet Matte Lipstick Crayon’ in ‘Mushroom’ – £2.
  • ‘PS… Velvet Matte Lipstick Crayon’ in ‘Uncovered’ – £2.
  • ‘PS… Velvet Matte Lipstick Crayon’ in ‘Super Nude’ – £2.
  • ‘PS… Super Matte Liquid Lipstick’ in ‘Kendall’ – £2.
  • ‘PS… Super Matte Liquid Lipstick’ in ‘Karla’ – £2.
  • ‘PS… Super Matte Liquid Lipstick’ in ‘Kiki’ – £2.
  • ‘PS… Super Matte Liquid Lipstick’ in ‘Kourtney’ – £2.
  • ‘PS… Super Matte Liquid Lipstick’ in ‘Kylie’ – £2.
  • ‘PS… Super Matte Liquid Lipstick’ in ‘Koko’ – £2.

As you can tell, I bought a silly amount, I just really wanted to give a good review and test these products out. Also I bought so many of the liquid lipsticks because I was so confused about why they seemed Kardashian themed – has anyone noticed this? I had a quick Google but couldn’t find much about it. I believe I bought all the shades of the liquid lipsticks, it was hard to tell them apart in the Primark lighting, not sure why there wasn’t ‘Kim’ or ‘Khloe’.

So for anyone who has been on my blog a while, you know this is going to be a long, and in-depth review, especially as I have 11 products to talk about! For anyone who is new here, welcome, I hope you enjoy this review.

Packaging and Swatches

I honestly don’t think the packaging is hugely special, or eye catching, but the products are really cheap so I didn’t expect to be overly impressed. I do quite like the packaging on the lip pencils and the velvet crayons, I just am not fond of the matte liquid lipstick packaging. I’m not sure why, maybe I just don’t like square containers?

The photo on the right shows the swatches of each product, and I think they swatch surprisingly well. When I first got them I swatched them and was impressed straight off the bat. Although some of them look a little patchy in the swatches I think that’s down to me and not the product, additionally you could spread it more evenly on your lips.

There’s one shade in particular that I want to discuss quickly and that’s Kiki. In the bottle it’s a very deep purple and honestly I was so worried about it being patchy. I recently reviewed Lime Crime Velventeens and I tried multiple purple shades there and they were SO patchy (you can read that review here). However, Kiki swatched like a dream, Lime Crime lipsticks are $20 and the purple shades I tried were awful, but Primark can create a flawless deep purple no problem for £2? I know what I’d prefer to buy!

‘PS… Lip Liner Pencil’ in ‘Toffee’ – £1

Kicking off this review I’m going to talk about the ‘Toffee’ lip liner. Firstly I love the colour, it’s a nice brown colour and is definitely reminiscent of toffee. The tip of this product is really fine and is great to get a sharp, thin, line which I like. However, it’s also a pain to fill in your lips with as it is so small.

The formula confuses me a little as it feels really creamy when creating arm swatches, and when used on the boarder of my lips, but when filling the rest of my lips, it feels less creamy and more dry, and I found it was pulling on my lips quite a lot (which is why I’m looking a little grumpy in the photo).

The photo above is the lip liner worn alone with no lipstick on top and I like the look of it, colour-wise, but it felt really dry. I did try adding a clear gloss but it ended up shifting the liner around and made it look really patchy.

That being said, for £1 I would definitely buy it again, and I will be using this shade in the future.

‘PS… Lip Liner Pencil’ in ‘Desert Sand’ – £1

I am much less fond of the colour of this ‘Desert Sand’ liner on me, I personally don’t go for really pale nudes as I don’t think they suit me. As you can see with a side-by-side comparison of the packaging vs the applied colour, I think the packaging was misleading and the colour shown was darker, and more pink toned, than the actual lip liner colour. The actual colour of the liner is, I would say, a light salmon, whereas I thought I was getting a deeper pink.

The formula of this liner is no different to the toffee one, again it feels creamy in swatches, but feels dry and drags on the lips.

Personally, I don’t think this is my colour and I’m unsure whether I will use it often.

‘PS… Velvet Matte Lipstick Crayon’ in ‘Mushroom’ – £2

So I bought this product in ‘Mushroom’, because of a YouTuber called ‘sophdoesnails’. I’m 50/50 on whether I like the shade of this lipstick, I don’t tend to go for purple toned lipsticks because I think they wash me out. I think this is the sort of shade that would grow on me though; I used to hate wearing brown lipsticks and now I love them. The formula of these is heavenly, they are so creamy and they glide on easily (with zero tugging unlike the lip liners). As this is a velvet matte formula, I think it will require topping up throughout the day – it moved around on my hand when I swatched it.

For £2 I think this is an absolute bargain and I will definitely buy some more colours of this, if I can find them.

‘PS… Velvet Matte Lipstick Crayon’ in ‘Uncovered’ – £2

I think this was my favourite of all the velvet crayons. ‘Uncovered’ is a lovely pink colour and I can see myself reaching for it a lot, especially as the crayons are so creamy and easy to apply, and they’re not as drying as a matte lipstick.

This was one of the shades that actually looked similar to the colour of the cap/end of the crayon which I liked as I found that a lot of them looked either much lighter or much darker than the colour shown on the outside.

Again for £2 I think this is a ridiculously good deal.

‘PS… Velvet Matte Lipstick Crayon’ in ‘Super Nude’ – £2

This colour is 100% not my shade and not one that I would ever feel confident enough to wear. It’s pretty much like a foundation on the lips kind of colour, although it looks slightly darker than that in the picture. One thing I will say is that the name of this crayon definitely reflects the shade, it certainly is ‘Super Nude’!

Although I won’t be reaching for this colour I know someone will be able to make it work, and the formula is just as amazing as the other colours of the velvet crayons. For £2 you can’t go wrong!

PS… Super Matte Liquid Lipstick’ in ‘Kendall’ – £2.

Kicking off the liquid lipsticks I’m going to be talking about ‘Kendall’. Anyone who’s been to Primark knows that the lighting isn’t the greatest so most of the liquid lipstick colours looked exactly the same in that light, I had to read the labels on the bottom to ensure I wasn’t double purchasing any. The photo on the left shows it in artificial lighting, whereas the selfie shows the product in natural light. As you can see the colour I thought I was buying (a nude shade) was absolutely not the colour I ended up with (a light purple).

I have a VERY similar shade to this from the NYX Lingerie collection which I believe is called Embellishment. I didn’t like the NYX shade as, because I’m pale, I think it makes me look ill, or like I’m really cold, and I’m not about that frost-bitten mouth life. Therefore as this has a similar tone to the NYX one, I won’t be using this ‘Kendall’ colour.

Additionally, I find the applicator slightly odd, this one (and a few of the other ones) is slightly bent, but others aren’t. This confuses me as I’m unsure which is the correct one. I personally found this application quite difficult to use.

‘PS… Super Matte Liquid Lipstick’ in ‘Karla’ – £2

Next up we have ‘Karla’. Once again, as you can tell the colour in photos and not in natural lighting is very different to the actual colour of the lipstick – in real life it was actually darker than in the tube. Despite telling myself for months that I didn’t like brown lipstick, I love this colour and it’s one that I would definitely wear again.

For some reason I found this one way easier to apply than the first one. The formulas of these are very thin and light and I found that I forgot I was wearing lipstick. It definitely doesn’t suck the life out of my mouth like other lipsticks I’ve used.

‘PS… Super Matte Liquid Lipstick’ in ‘Kiki’ – £2

I was originally trying to lip swatch these in order of lightest to darkest colour, but every tube I picked up seemed to be a totally different (and darker) colour than was in the tube. So I gave up with that completely and decided to go for the darkest colour, ‘Kiki’, because I was so interested about how it was going to come out.

Whilst in the picture it does look black, it is actually a very deep purple in the tube. I personally think it does look black in person, but perhaps in the right light it will look purple. The formula of this is slightly thicker than the others but still doesn’t feel drying and it went on really easily. It wasn’t streaky or patchy in the slightest, I am extremely impressed by this shade.

Although this is not a summer shade (unless you want to wear it in the summer, in which case you do you), I will DEFINITELY wear it late in the year. This is the vampiest shade I own and, considering Halloween is my favourite holiday, I will be wearing it around Halloween and when I want to feel sassy.

The only think that I’m concerned about with this shade, and every other dark shade, is that it might rub off on my waterline and allow my natural lip shade to show through (and look terrible). However, i’d just watch this closely and top up as needed.

‘PS… Super Matte Liquid Lipstick’ in ‘Kourtney’ – £2

Jumping from deep dark purple to the pinkest colour ever, we have ‘Kourtney’. This lipstick is definitely not my colour at all, I am not the biggest lover of pink and this is not a shade of lipstick that I think does me any favours. The only way I can describe this colour is barbie pink, which as I said is not my kind of shade.

Also, I found that a lot of the lighter colours were patchy. I find this odd as it’s usually the darker shades that are patchy and difficult to apply. This shade in particular was very patchy and I found it didn’t layer particularly well.

‘PS… Super Matte Liquid Lipstick’ in ‘Kylie’ – £2

The next lipstick is called ‘Kylie’ and all I have to say is wow. From the first swipe I loved it so much. This colour really reminds me of Christmas, it’s the most beautiful, Christmassy, berry red I’ve owned. As you can see in comparison to my nails holding the bottle, it’s darker and richer than usual bright reds. I absolutely love this shade.

Just like ‘Kiki’ this shade isn’t patchy in the slightest, it’s easy to apply and only requires one coat to achieve opacity. I cannot believe this is £2, I will definitely be wearing this all of the time.

‘PS… Super Matte Liquid Lipstick’ in ‘Koko’ – £2

Okay this is the final shade that I bought, called ‘Koko’, and I think that this is the most typically ‘me’ shade. I really love it and would use it often. It isn’t patchy and goes on easily, and I would say that it’s a sort of dusky pink colour.

This is the shade that I wore the longest and it is a little bit drying, but I personally don’t think it’s horrific (like the matte Kylie Lip Kits), however it does settle into every tiny line on your lips so I would say you’d need to ensure that your lips were really moisturised and exfoliated before wearing this lipstick. It held up well with drinks, but not so much with food so would need to be topped up throughout the day.

Overall, I have different thoughts about the different lip products, and I think that the liquid lipsticks have the biggest discrepancies between them. I think the lip liners are good but perhaps not as creamy as I like, that being said I would buy more as for £1 they are a great buy. I also found that both of them had the same formula so I would assume that all of the formulas are the same. The velvet lip crayons are amazing for quick, easy, and comfortable lipstick wearing. I found them easy to apply, precise and moisturising on my lips, I can’t believe that they’re only £2. Finally, I found the liquid lipsticks slightly more hit and miss. Personally I thought I was buying totally different shades and do not find the colours in the tubes to be reflective of the true product colour. For some reason the lighter colours were patchier than the darker colours. Additionally, I don’t think they have a particularly big shade choice and I’m unsure if there would be something to suit all skin tones.

Personally I would recommend the £1 lip liners, the £2 velvet lip crayons, and I liked ‘Karla’ ‘Kiki’ ‘Kylie’ and ‘Koko’ out of the £2 liquid lipsticks that I bought. I think the formula of all of these products is amazing for the price and I have some higher end (or more expensive) lipsticks that don’t have as good of a formula.

This brings us to the end of this review! If you enjoyed this review then please give it a like and comment below about you experiences with Primark lip products – what did you think?

Love,

Charlotte (Multibendystraw)

Picture1

Check out my previous posts!

The Quest for Blinding Highlight – Sleek ‘Solstice’ Highlighting Palette

Battle of the Eyeliner Pens – Kat Von D vs NYX vs Soap and Glory vs Ciaté London

Hashtag Girl Crush July 2017 Review

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

