The Quest for Blinding Highlight – Sleek ‘Solstice’ Highlighting Palette

Hello and Welcome!

Anyone who knows me (or has read some of my posts containing highlighters) knows that I love having a blinding highlight. Therefore, I thought it would be fitting to start a series on my blog called ‘The Quest for Blinding Highlight’. So I thought, what better way to kick off this series than with Sleek’s ‘Solstice’ highlighting palette.

I don’t know the exact date when I bought this palette, but checking back through my Instagram, which you follow here (shameless plug I know), I first noticed it popping up in January so I must have got it some time around then.

 

Price: This palette is £9.99 and you can get it from Superdrug or Boots in the UK, I got mine from Superdrug, or from the Sleek website for £10 (no idea why it is 1p more).

Description (from the Sleek website): ‘Solstice instantly enhances the complexion with a radiant glow, the highly pigmented metallic finishes create a gorgeous luminous sheen on the skin.’

Shades (left to right, top to bottom in palette, top to bottom in swatches): Ecliptic, Hemisphere, Subsolar, Equinox.

As you can see the packaging is a reflective gold, which I love and I think it makes it look a lot more expensive than £10! As with any reflective surfaces, this palette does pick up finger prints easily but I don’t think that’s the end of the world, and it is very easy to clean. On the Sleek website it states that the palette ‘includes two baked powders, one luxurious cream formula and one silky shimmer powder’ – Ecliptic is the cream shade, the two baked shades I believe are Hemisphere and Equinox and the silky shimmer powder is Subsolar.

By the way the little gap on the right of the palette is because it contained a brush but it honestly wasn’t that great so I got rid of it. If I’m honest I would much prefer for the pans to be slightly bigger, instead of a brush being provided. If anyone is wondering I apply my highlighter with a Morphe M501 which I’ve had for ages and bought through Beauty Bay.

 

I personally prefer not to use cream highlighter shades, so I haven’t used Ecliptic very often, although I do use it occasionally when I want a more natural highlight. As you can probably see from the photo, I use Hemisphere the most, it’s a really beautiful purple/pink shade and it is B-L-I-N-D-I-N-G, as you can see from the above photos. Sometimes I mix it with the off-white shade Subsolar, but I think it’s perfect on its own. Unfortunately, Equinox is too dark for my skin tone and I find that golds don’t suit me but the Sleek website claims ‘this versatile face and body highlighting palette suits all skin tones’ so it’s to be expected that not every shade would work for me (and for £10 I don’t mind that 1/4 shades doesn’t suit me). I’m unsure if this palette would suit ALL skin tones but I think it would work on a variety of different skin tones.

I always receive comments about my glow when I wear this, including people shouting across a room that they can see my highlight. Additionally, I’ve had multiple friends ask what highlighter I use, and buy this palette for themselves.

Overall, I think this palette is FANTASTIC. The price point is perfect, the colour choice is great and the glow is what I want it to be… Blinding. If you would like to buy this palette then you can do so through the Sleek website here.

Whilst I may have found a palette that delivers the glow I desire, the quest for blinding highlighter continues, as I like to change up what I’m wearing and I love trying new products. So if you have a highlighter recommendation, or one that you want to see an honest review about then comment it down below. I would love to hear your thoughts on this palette, do you love it? Do you hate it? Are you just not really that bothered by it? Can someone please tell me if it actually suits ALL skin tones like it claims?

As always if you enjoyed reading this review then please give it a quick like so I know to continue this series, I’m looking to write about the Bellápierre Cosmetics ‘Glowing Palette’ in more detail, which I received in my June 2017 Cohorted Beauty Box (you can read my review on that here), or the JSC x Manny MUA ‘Eclipse’ highlighter.

Love,

Charlotte (Multibendystraw)

Picture1

Check out my previous posts!

Battle of the Eyeliner Pens – Kat Von D vs NYX vs Soap and Glory vs Ciaté London

Hashtag Girl Crush July 2017 Review

Korean Beauty Review – A’PIEU Milk Sheet Masks

 

 

8 thoughts on “The Quest for Blinding Highlight – Sleek ‘Solstice’ Highlighting Palette

Add yours

    1. I know right! When I bought it ages ago I was a bit sceptical but it’s so incredible and I can’t believe the price for four shades! Although I’ve had mine for months it hardly looks like it’s been used. Who knew a small palette could pack so much pigment x

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

