Jeffree Star Summer Chrome Collection 2017 Review

Hello and Welcome!

Today I’ll be taking a look at the Jeffree Star Summer Chrome Collection and giving you my thoughts about the products I received!

I only got into Jeffree Star liquid lipsticks a few months ago (just before the Jeffree Star Cosmetics x Manny MUA collaboration in March) and I was excited for the Chrome Collection launch and bought some items on the day it was released!

Firstly, the actual buying of the products was a nightmare, I was online, with my card, ready to buy the products from Beauty Bay, when they were launching at 6pm (GMT). However, Beauty Bay had some kind of difficulty in putting the products up (for roughly FIVE HOURS). Irritated by how badly the launch was handled by Beauty Bay, I ended up buying through Beauty Lish as I was worried the collection would sell out. Beauty Lish ship from America, so I had to wait longer but I was just glad that I got the chance to get some of the products! Due to Beauty Bay’s pricing, even paying customs and shipping from Beauty Lish (customs are added at the checkout so you don’t have to worry), my order was only £2 more expensive.

19726895_10212104578223330_1503773940_o

The products I have are:

  • Velour Liquid Lipstick in ‘Calabasas’ – $18 (JSC & Beauty Lish websites) £16 (Beauty Bay website).
  • Velour Liquid Lipstick in ‘Family Jewels’ (this was bought by my lovely boyfriend) – $18 (JSC & Beauty Lish websites) £16 (Beauty Bay website).
  • Skin Frost in ‘Crystal Ball’ – $29 (JSC & Beauty Lish websites) £25.50 (Beauty Bay website).

 

Without furtherado, let’s get into reviewing these products!

Firstly I absolutely LOVE the packaging I think the pink chrome is absolutely beautiful and I kind of wish the lipsticks were always packaged in this colour.

Velour Liquid Lipstick in ‘Calabasas’

19723973_10212104577943323_230636672_o

This colour is described as a ‘matte rosy red’ on the Beauty Bay website, but it looks more of a deep pink in the tube. This was the colour that I wanted the most when I watched the collection reveal video on YouTube.

 

I always go for pinks and reds for lipstick colours as I feel that they suit my skin tone best, so I was naturally drawn to Calabasas.

The formula is the same as all of his liquid lipsticks, it’s opaque in the first coat and looks fantastic. It dries down to matte very quickly but doesn’t feel particularly drying. I personally don’t think this liquid lipstick has much of a smell, although I’ve read some people saying they think it smells sweet. I prefer it not to have a scent as I think the ‘rootbeer float’ scent in my Gemini lipstick smells like cough medicine.

Picture1

I was curious to see what this shade was like swatched against ‘Gemini’ and ‘I’m Shook’, so here’s a little comparison if anyone is interested! As you can see, the new shade ‘Calabasas’ is a lot more pink toned than ‘I’m Shook’ from the JSC x Manny MUA collab, and ‘Gemini’ is slightly lighter. I think all three of these shades are very similar, and on the mouth (or on my mouth at least) ‘Calabasas’ and ‘Gemini’ are difficult to distinguish. Whereas ‘I’m Shook’ is a lot more of a vibrant red colour.

I have no problems at all with this shade, however I’m unsure if I will reach for it often, because I have so many shades that are similar. If you’d like to buy this shade I believe it is still available through either the Jeffree Star website, or the Beauty Bay website.

Velour Liquid Lipstick in ‘Family Jewels’

19859026_10212104578463336_1635879304_oSeeing this colour online in the tube, and in Jeffree’s reveal video, scared me. I am not a girl for brown toned nudes, I think they either wash me out or just generally do not suit me. However, recently I’ve been using more and more of them and they’re growing on me! Initially I was going to buy ‘Candyass’ from the collection (a metallic pink) but didn’t think that it would be a colour I reached for often. My boyfriend got me this shade and it’s definitely my favourite of the two!

The colour is definitely brown but it has some pink/red tones to it and I think that’s why it suits me. Again the shade goes on smoothly, and is opaque in one coat. I’ve worn this shade all day multiple times and it wears well, it does need touching up along the water line but I think all dark shades need that. I am in love with this colour and will be wearing it at every opportunity.

If you’d like to buy this shade then it is still available through Jeffree Star’s website and the Beauty Bay website.

Skin Frost in ‘Crystal Ball’

19859093_10212104576583289_1601549586_oI’m pretty pale so out of the ‘Crystal Ball’ and the ‘Summer Snowcone’ skin frosts I thought that ‘Crystal Ball’ would suit me more (‘Summer Snowcone’ is yellow) and I’m obsessed with having a blinding glow so I thought I’d give this product a go. On Jeffree Star’s website it states ‘this has a duo-chrome shift to it making it look so stunning on the cheekbones and cupid’s bow!’ Now in the pan it doesn’t look like it has any kind of shift to it, it’s just really white. However, after it’s applied I see a slightly pink shift, additionally where I’ve dipped my brush into the pan, that part is now slightly pink.

This highlight isn’t my favourite if I’m honest, as you can see from the photo it does give a blinding glow, but this is with multiple layers, and a wet brush, and there’s a spot in my house where the light reflects off of highlight really well, and there’s just something about it that I’m not totally fond of.

Firstly, I think it’s too light for me, if you’re looking at my face straight on, my cheekbones look slightly grey (it’s not a good look). Additionally, if you don’t wet your brush with setting spray then there’s loads of glittery fallout and it’s difficult to apply it precisely. I had it as a brow bone highlight today and halfway through the day when I looked in the mirror it just looked like small pieces of glitter on my brow, instead of one smooth glow.

I’ve only ever tried this skin frost and the JSC x Manny MUA ‘Eclipse’ highlighter and honestly neither have been hugely impressive. This one is better than the ‘Eclipse’ one, which for me was chunky and really glittery and not blinding at all, but it’s still not wowing me. I personally believe that there are much better highlighters that are more affordable. My holy grail for highlighter is the Sleek ‘Solstice’ highlighting palette which is £9.99 and comes with 4 shades (1 cream, 3 powder). For the price of the Jeffree Star highlighter you do get a lot of product but when it’s not a product that I want to use, that doesn’t console me.

All in all, I will continue using this highlighter because I paid for it, and I’m going to see if I can get it to work better for me, but I wouldn’t buy it again. That being said, we’re all different and if ‘Crystal Ball’ seems like the type of highlighter you’d love then it’s still available on both the Jeffree Star website, and the Beauty Bay website.

That brings us to the end of this review, thank you so much for reading! I always promise myself that the reviews will be short but they never are – I can’t help it I just have so much to say!

If you have any thoughts about these products, or want me to review something, please leave comment below and if you enjoyed reading this then please give the review a like!

Love,

Charlotte (Multibendystraw)

Picture1

Check out my previous posts!

Lime Crime Velvetines First Impressions and Review
The Ordinary Skincare Review
Korean Beauty – Innisfree Sheet Masks

6 thoughts on “Jeffree Star Summer Chrome Collection 2017 Review

Add yours

  1. Hey Charlotte ! I so didn’t know you had written a review about these products – You have reached out for the only three products I would have gotten for myself. Calabasas and Family Jewels appealed to me as soon as I saw them and they look really pretty on you !
    I have never tried any of the Jeffree Star makeup but I ve read several times that his highlighters are not the best.
    I see that you have written many reviews I’m interested in so I shall keep your blog in my favorites and go read them as soon as I’ll be able to 😀
    Have a good night !
    Tissam | Tissam Est La

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Great minds think alike! I did want to get ‘You. Better. Work’ but I didn’t think that I would wear it much (I’m definitely not brave enough).
      I always saw that his Skin Frosts were amazing and I was so excited to get one but they haven’t turned out the best and I won’t be buying another one.
      Awh that’s so sweet of you! I will keep up-to-date with your blog too, you’ve written so many fantastic posts! 😘

      Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

